Trust Logo

Meryfield Primary School

Believe and Achieve


The curriculum is divided into three stages:


 • Early Years Foundation Stage: from ages 0-5 
• Key Stage 1: from ages 5-7 
• Key Stage 2: from ages 7-11
 Nursery and Reception The Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum is based on seven areas of learning:


  Personal, Social and Emotional Development              Mathematics

  Communication and Language                                     Understanding the World

  Physical Development                                                  Expressive Arts and Design



Key Stages 1-2 - Areas of the curriculum are:


Mathematics                                                      Religious Education (RE)

English                                                               Design and Technology

Science                                                              Art                                 

Computing                                                         Music

History                                                               French                                     

Geography                                                        Physical Education

Personal Social and Health Education (PSHE) 

Meryfield's Curriculum of Intent Statement 


At Meryfield, we believe that to equip our children with the skills needed to open doors of opportunity in the modern world, they must be exposed to a diverse, creative and values based curriculum that is interwoven and underpinned by the core subjects. We offer enriching first hand experiences and extra curricular activities and our lessons are designed to enable children to become critical thinkers and develop a thirst for new experiences. Based on our school values, ‘Believe and Achieve', we encourage all our children to become resilient, independent, confident and happy individuals who strive for personal success, celebrate the success of others and develop a lifelong love of learning.

Meryfield's Curriculum Intent